Category archives: Social Conservative Review

The Social Conservative Review: November 29, 2012

by Krystle Gabele

November 29, 2012

Click here to subscribe to The Social Conservative Review.


Dear Friends:

To participate in public life is to recognize that periodic defeat is inevitable. Sometimes, defeat occurs far more often than we would like.

Earlier this month, conservatives in four states lost battles to defend marriage as the union of one man and one woman. President Obama’s re-election presages almost invariably the appointment of men and women to our Supreme Court and the lower federal courts who believe Roe was decided rightly and that the Constitution’s meaning is malleable. The list could go on, but the point would be the same: This was a heartbreaking month for social conservatives.

So, do we quit? Certainly not. We consider ways of reframing our enduring message and means of persuading those wary of our vision for the country. Yet abandonment of truth is never a morally acceptable alternative to those who believe that right and wrong are defined not by popular consensus but by the self-revelation of an eternal God in the Bible and in the “laws of nature.”

Moreover, all is not gloom and doom: In the 2011-2012 sessions of their legislatures, states enacted 131 laws that in some way temper access to abortion on demand. These include ” bans on abortions at 20 weeks; 24- to 72-hour waiting periods; and a requirement to inform women of suicide risks if they seek an abortion” (Source: CBS News). Massachusetts voters rejected physician-assisted suicide, and in Montana voters passed a measure that requires every young woman of 15 or under who seeks an abortion to notify her parents.

In all of this, there is a larger point we dare not lose: Although we play for very high stakes - among them, the sanctity of unborn life, the dignity of women, the centrality of religious liberty, and marriage as defined in Scripture and practiced for 3,500 years of recorded history - we must never delude ourselves that these battles ever will be fully or finally won.

The ultimate triumph of truth rests in the hands of a King Whose guidance of time and history often is mysterious and Who alone has the power to ensure that right prevails. Until He chooses to consummate our fallen human affairs, it is out duty always to champion righteousness and justice in the public square. As T.S. Eliot wrote, “Combat may have truces, but never a peace.” Why? Because as long as man exists, so will evil and its manifestations in society and government. Thus, although permanent wins are impossible, fighting for all the victories we can, for as long as we can sustain them, is essential.

For however long Christians win or lose on the field of moral combat, we remain faithful, animated by the courage and confidence of those for whom victory is assured not by human effort but the sovereignty of a good and omnipotent God. It’s a fight worth waging, and never quitting.

Sincerely,

Rob Schwarzwalder
Senior Vice-President
Family Research Council

P.S. Be sure to join us, in person or online, for Dr. Russell Moore’s upcoming presentation on adoption and its relevance to Christian compassion and calling. It takes place this coming Tuesday, December 4 at 12:00 noon EST. Register or watch here.


Educational Freedom and Reform
Homeschooling

Legislation and Policy Proposals

College Debt

Government Reform
Regulation

Waste/Fraud/Abuse

Health Care
Abstinence

Health care reform: Political and Legislative efforts

Homosexuality

Human Life and Bioethics
Abortion

Bioethics and Biotechnology

Euthanasia and End of Life Issues

Stem Cell Research
To read about the latest advances in ethical adult stem cell research, keep up with leading-edge reports from FRC’s Dr. David Prentice, click here.

Human Trafficking

Marriage and Family
Adoption

Family Economics

Family Structure

Media
Pornography

Internet

Religion and Public Policy
Religious Liberty

Religion in America
Check out Dr. Kenyn Cureton’s feature on Watchmen Pastors called “The Lost Episodes,” featuring how religion has had an impact on our Founding Fathers.

Secularism

International
Israel

International Economy and Family

Religious Persecution

Sharia law — U.S., foreign

The Courts
Constitutional Issues

Judicial Activism

Other News of Note

Book reviews

The Social Conservative Review: November 8, 2012

by Krystle Gabele

November 8, 2012

Click here to subscribe to The Social Conservative Review.


Dear Friends:

As we consider the results of this week’s election, our priorities as social conservatives remain unchanged.

We need to reconsider how we communicate our message, and demonstrate more persuasively that our ideas are both practical and compassionate, that they strengthen families more effectively than the policies of the Left. We need the intellectual rigor and moral courage necessary to engage our fellow citizens in ways they find convincing, clear, and compelling. Talking among ourselves and continually re-enforcing mutually-held ideas is insufficient in an era of profound philosophical, political, and demographic division.

But our message itself should remain unchanged, and is summarized well in these words from the Manhattan Declaration:

While the whole scope of Christian moral concern, including a special concern for the poor and vulnerable, claims our attention, we are especially troubled that in our nation today the lives of the unborn, the disabled, and the elderly are severely threatened; that the institution of marriage, already buffeted by promiscuity, infidelity and divorce, is in jeopardy of being redefined to accommodate fashionable ideologies; that freedom of religion and the rights of conscience are gravely jeopardized by those who would use the instruments of coercion to compel persons of faith to compromise their deepest convictions.

May we, by God’s grace, never depart from or equivocate about these bedrock beliefs. We owe our fellow image-bearers of God, and our Creator Himself, no less.

Sincerely,

Rob Schwarzwalder

Senior Vice-President

Family Research Council

P.S. Watch FRC President Action Tony Perkins and a panel of experts discuss the meaning of Tuesday’s elections here.


Educational Freedom and Reform

Homeschooling

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Legislation and Policy Proposals

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

College Debt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Government Reform

Regulation

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Waste/Fraud/Abuse

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Health Care

Abstinence

 

 

 

 

 

 

Conscience Protection

 

 

 

 

Health care reform: Political and Legislative efforts

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Homosexuality

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Human Life and Bioethics

Abortion

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bioethics and Biotechnology

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Euthanasia and End of Life Issues

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Stem Cell Research

To read about the latest advances in ethical adult stem cell research, keep up with leading-edge reports from FRC’s Dr. David Prentice, click here.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Human Trafficking

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Marriage and Family

Adoption

 

 

 

 

 

 

Family Economics

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Family Structure

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Media

Pornography

 

 

 

 

 

 

Internet

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Religion and Public Policy

Religious Liberty

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Religion in America

Check out Dr. Kenyn Cureton’s feature on Watchmen Pastors called “The Lost Episodes,” featuring how religion has had an impact on our Founding Fathers.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Secularism

 

 

 

 

 

 

International

Israel

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

International Economy and Family

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Religious Persecution

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sharia law — U.S., foreign

 

 

 

 

The Courts

Constitutional Issues

 

 

 

 

 

 

Judicial Activism

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Other News of Note

 

 

 

 

 

 

Book reviews

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Social Conservative Review: October 25, 2012

by Krystle Gabele

October 25, 2012

Click here to subscribe to The Social Conservative Review.


Dear Friends:

A Marine I know once described what he called “moral courage” and “physical courage.” The latter has to do with battlefield bravery, the kind of sacrificial conduct that causes a soldier to fall on a grenade, attack an entrenched position, or risk his life to save a friend.

Moral courage is about taking a stand for truth and conscience regardless of the political or personal consequences. Christians should display this kind of courage with kindness and winsomeness, but with unequivocal firmness.

This week at FRC, Dr. Owen Strachan spoke movingly of the need for a compassionate but unbending Christian testimony in our culture (“The Sacrificial Witness of the Christian Moral Tradition“). Watch and listen to his roughly 30-minute remarks; there will be few ways of investing your time more wisely as we draw near to our pivotal elections.

Courage is rightly considered the foremost of the virtues,” Winston Churchill is quoted as saying, “for upon it, all others depend.” At a time of moral crisis in our country and our world, there are few qualities we need more.

Sincerely,

Rob Schwarzwalder

Senior Vice-President

Family Research Council

P.S. For an update on the latest legal developments in the shooting that took place at FRC in August, read our recent press release. We continue to praise God for the moral and physical courage of our extraordinary colleague, Leo Johnson, and are grateful for his ongoing recuperation.


Educational Freedom and Reform

Homeschooling

Legislation and Policy Proposals

College Debt

Government Reform

Regulation

Waste/Fraud/Abuse

Health Care

Abstinence

Conscience Protection

Health care reform: Political and Legislative efforts

Homosexuality

Human Life and Bioethics

Abortion

Bioethics and Biotechnology

Euthanasia and End of Life Issues

Stem Cell Research

To read about the latest advances in ethical adult stem cell research, keep up with leading-edge reports from FRC’s Dr. David Prentice, click here.

Human Trafficking

Women’s Health

Marriage and Family

Adoption

Family Economics

Family Structure

Media

Pornography

Internet

Religion and Public Policy

Religious Liberty

Religion in America

Check out Dr. Kenyn Cureton’s feature on Watchmen Pastors called “The Lost Episodes,” featuring how religion has had an impact on our Founding Fathers.

Secularism

International

Israel

International Economy and Family

Religious Persecution

Sharia law — U.S., foreign

The Courts

Constitutional Issues

Judicial Activism

Other News of Note

Book reviews

The Social Conservative Review: October 11, 2012

by Krystle Gabele

October 11, 2012

Click here to subscribe to The Social Conservative Review.


Dear Friends,

America’s leading abortion provider, Planned Parenthood, is at it again.

Increasingly notorious for its massive abortion business (its clinics performed about 330,000 last year), Planned Parenthood is involved in what pro-life champion Lila Rose calls “a rebranding scheme.” Trying to position itself as a compassionate purveyor of women’s healthcare, the organization is attempting frantically to derail the growing movement to end its huge government subsidies at the state and federal levels. These funds enable Planned Parenthood to retain its infamous position as the nation’s leading provider of abortion.

FRC has recently published an updated version of our booklet on Planned Parenthood called, “America’s Abortion Provider: What Everyone Should Know About Planned Parenthood.” You can download this informative and compelling booklet at no charge. We urge you to do so - and forward it to others committed to standing for the lives of the unborn and their mothers.

As FRC’s friend Ryan Bomberger says, “No one knows the beautiful possibility of Life: planned or unplanned.” Amen - so let’s keep standing and praying and working for it.

Sincerely,

Rob Schwarzwalder

Senior Vice-President

Family Research Council

P.S. The director of FRC’s Center for Religious Liberty, Ken Klukowski, makes the case that “the ban on discussing politics” from the pulpit is unconstitutional. Read his op-ed on this critical subject here.


Educational Freedom and Reform

Homeschooling

Legislation and Policy Proposals

College Debt

Government Reform

Regulation

Waste/Fraud/Abuse

Health Care

Abstinence

Conscience Protection

Health care reform: Political and Legislative efforts

Homosexuality

Human Life and Bioethics

Abortion

Bioethics and Biotechnology

Euthanasia and End of Life Issues

Stem Cell Research

To read about the latest advances in ethical adult stem cell research, keep up with leading-edge reports from FRC’s Dr. David Prentice, click here.

Human Trafficking

Marriage and Family

Adoption

Family Economics

Family Structure

Media

Pornography

Internet

Religion and Public Policy

Religious Liberty

Religion in America

Check out Dr. Kenyn Cureton’s feature on Watchmen Pastors called “The Lost Episodes,” featuring how religion has had an impact on our Founding Fathers.

Secularism

International

Israel

International Economy and Family

Religious Persecution

Sharia law — U.S., foreign

The Courts

Constitutional Issues

Judicial Activism

Other News of Note

Book reviews

The Social Conservative Review: September 27, 2012

by Krystle Gabele

September 27, 2012

Click here to subscribe to The Social Conservative Review.


Dear Friends:

Faith, family and freedom: it’s a formulation FRC uses all the time, with good reason. Each one of these key components of our culture is under attack.

To help provide you with resources to keep sustaining the battle for what the ancients called “the good, the true, and the beautiful,” FRC continues to publish top-of-the-line research and user-friendly material we provide at no costs. Here are three of our most recent:

  • Modern Slavery: How to Fight Human Trafficking in Your Community.” Author and attorney Robert Flores, formerly an official in the Justice Department’s Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, explains the seriousness of the crisis in human slavery - right here at home - and how we can fight it.
  • Non-Marriage Reduces U.S. Labor Participation,” by Drs. Henry Potrykus and Pat Fagan of FRC’s Marriage and Religion Research Institute. This careful analysis demonstrates that given the ” long decline of adult male labor participation … the risk of depression will be exacerbated over time.”
  • Hunger, Plenty, and Population.” In this brief new study, I explore the link between hunger, malnutrition, corruption, and the extreme environmental movement.

The challenges we face as a nation are large and looming. We need not just good and courageous hearts but informed and ready minds. FRC honors each of our supporters for the former, and we’re working to provide you with the resources needed for the latter.

Sincerely,

Rob Schwarzwalder

Senior Vice-President

Family Research Council

P.S. Check out FRC’s lecture series, including most recently our star panel of experts on college debt, by clicking here.


Educational Freedom and Reform

Homeschooling

Legislation and Policy Proposals

College Debt

Government Reform

Regulation

Waste/Fraud/Abuse

Health Care

Abstinence

Conscience Protection

Health care reform: Political and Legislative efforts

Homosexuality

Human Life and Bioethics

Abortion

Bioethics and Biotechnology

Euthanasia and End of Life Issues

Stem Cell Research

To read about the latest advances in ethical adult stem cell research, keep up with leading-edge reports from FRC’s Dr. David Prentice, click here.

Human Trafficking

Women’s Health

Marriage and Family

Adoption

Family Economics

Family Structure

Media

Pornography

Internet

Religion and Public Policy

Religious Liberty

Religion in America

Check out Dr. Kenyn Cureton’s feature on Watchmen Pastors called “The Lost Episodes,” featuring how religion has had an impact on our Founding Fathers.

Secularism

International

Israel

International Economy and Family

Religious Persecution

Sharia law — U.S., foreign

The Courts

Constitutional Issues

Judicial Activism

Other News of Note

Book reviews

The Social Conservative Review: September 13, 2012

by Krystle Gabele

September 13, 2012

Do you want to receive the most current news related to social conservatives? Sign up today to subscribe to The Social Conservative Review.


Dear Friends,

Barry Brown is a bear of a man. A veteran and an athletic trainer, he is also the recipient of adult stem cell therapy.

When Barry learned he needed triple bypass surgery, he began working with Dr. Joshua Hare of the University of Miami’s Interdisciplinary Stem Cell Institute. While undergoing heart surgery, Barry’s adult stem cells - harvested from his bone marrow - were injected directly into his heart.

Did the treatment work? Well, on the third anniversary of his adult stem cell transplant, Barry ran a half-marathon of more than 13 miles.

Ethical stem cell research and treatment is working. As David Prentice, Ph.D., director of the Family Research Council’s Center for Human Life and Bioethics, said earlier this year in congressional testimony:

Numerous peer-reviewed papers document improvement in patient health after adult stem cell treatment, including a paper published in 2008 in the Journal of the American Medical Association reviewing 10 years of studies and 69 published patient trials that documented the benefit to patient health of adult stem cells for autoimmune conditions such as multiple sclerosis, juvenile diabetes, systemic lupus, and Crohn’s disease, as well as acute and chronic heart damage and peripheral vascular disease.

You can view a video about Barry and other short films about patients treated successfully with adult stem cells here. FRC believes that sound science and moral integrity not only can coexist, but necessarily complement each other.

Adult stem cells save lives. Take a jog with Barry Brown and see for yourself.

Sincerely,

Rob Schwarzwalder

Senior Vice-President

Family Research Council

P.S. Read FRC President Tony Perkins’ Washington Times op-ed on party platforms and the fall election to learn more about the stakes involved this coming November.


Educational Freedom and Reform

Homeschooling

Legislation and Policy Proposals

College Debt

Government Reform

Regulation

Waste/Fraud/Abuse

Health Care

Abstinence

Conscience Protection

Health care reform: Political and Legislative efforts

Homosexuality

Human Life and Bioethics

Abortion

Bioethics and Biotechnology

Euthanasia and End of Life Issues

Stem Cell Research

To read about the latest advances in ethical adult stem cell research, keep up with leading-edge reports from FRC’s Dr. David Prentice, click here.

Human Trafficking

Women’s Health

Marriage and Family

Adoption

Family Economics

Family Structure

Media

Pornography

Internet

Religion and Public Policy

Religious Liberty

Religion in America

Check out Dr. Kenyn Cureton’s feature on Watchmen Pastors called “The Lost Episodes,” featuring how religion has had an impact on our Founding Fathers.

Secularism

International

Israel

International Economy and Family

Religious Persecution

Sharia law — U.S., foreign

The Courts

Constitutional Issues

Judicial Activism

Other News of Note

Book reviews

The Social Conservative Review: August 30, 2012

by Krystle Gabele

August 30, 2012

Click here to subscribe to The Social Conservative Review.


Dear Friends,

We hear much these days about “tolerance” and “acceptance.” Too often, when used by the Left, these terms really mean, “Agree with me - or else.”

Consider: In 2011, a young woman in suburban Seattle had to go to federal court to be allowed say something during her high school valedictory address. That “something” was a simple prayer, offered in Jesus’ Name. Does the mention of the Savior so threaten religious sensibilities that it must be adjudicated from the bench? Really?

Last week, FRC President Tony Perkins partnered with Liberty Institute President Kelly Shackleford to launch our new joint study, “Religious Hostility in America.” A catalog of 600 cases of anti-religious - and predominantly anti-Christian - bigotry, the report demonstrates how expressions of traditional faith increasingly are under assault in many realms of public life. You can download the report, and learn more about FRC’s efforts on behalf of religious liberty, here.

It is the duty of all nations to acknowledge the providence of Almighty God, to obey His will, to be grateful for His benefits, and humbly to implore His protection and favor,” wrote the then-new President George Washington in 1789. Those words were true at the nation’s founding. We would do well to heed them, carefully and completely, today.

Sincerely,

Rob Schwarzwalder

Senior Vice-President

Family Research Council

P.S. Join Tony Perkins and other Christian leaders as they share in a nationwide simulcast called, “iPledge Sunday 2012.” Learn how you and your church can participate in the upcoming election faithfully and effectively by clicking here.


Educational Freedom and Reform

Homeschooling

Legislation and Policy Proposals

College Debt

Government Reform

Regulation

Waste/Fraud/Abuse

Health Care

Abstinence

Conscience Protection

Health care reform: Political and Legislative efforts

Homosexuality

Human Life and Bioethics

Abortion

Bioethics and Biotechnology

Euthanasia and End of Life Issues

Stem Cell Research

To read about the latest advances in ethical adult stem cell research, keep up with leading-edge reports from FRC’s Dr. David Prentice, click here.

Human Trafficking

Women’s Health

Marriage and Family

Adoption

Family Economics

Family Structure

Media

Pornography

Internet

Religion and Public Policy

Religious Liberty

Religion in America

Check out Dr. Kenyn Cureton’s feature on Watchmen Pastors called “The Lost Episodes,” featuring how religion has had an impact on our Founding Fathers.

Secularism

International

Israel

International Economy and Family

Religious Persecution

Sharia law — U.S., foreign

The Courts

Constitutional Issues

Judicial Activism

Other News of Note

Book reviews

The Social Conservative Review: August 20, 2012

by Krystle Gabele

August 20, 2012

Click here to subscribe to The Social Conservative Review.


Dear Friends,

There are times when the power of the moment crowds lesser things off the page.

Last Wednesday, my colleague Leo Johnson got between a gunman and his access to the rest of FRC’s DC staff, including me. Despite being shot in the arm, Leo subdued the shooter.

DC Police Chief Cathy Lanier said that Leo “is a hero.” Some have dubbed him “the Hero of G Street.” And House Speaker John Boehner sent out this message: “Prayers are w/injured guard, his family, & everyone at (FRC) …DC police chief says ‘security officer is a hero’ - couldn’t agree more.”

Neither could any of us here at the Family Research Council. Please join us in praying for a quick and complete recovery for Leo and for his wonderful family during this difficult time. And thanks be to God for a brave man who acted in the finest traditions of American courage.

Sincerely,

Rob Schwarzwalder

Senior Vice-President

Family Research Council


Educational Freedom and Reform

Homeschooling

Legislation and Policy Proposals

College Debt

Government Reform

Regulation

Waste/Fraud/Abuse

Health Care

Abstinence

Conscience Protection

Health care reform: Political and Legislative efforts

Homosexuality

Human Life and Bioethics

Abortion

Bioethics and Biotechnology

Euthanasia and End of Life Issues

Stem Cell Research

To read about the latest advances in ethical adult stem cell research, keep up with leading-edge reports from FRC’s Dr. David Prentice, click here.

Human Trafficking

Women’s Health

Marriage and Family

Adoption

Family Economics

Family Structure

Media

Pornography

Religion and Public Policy

Religious Liberty

Religion in America

Check out Dr. Kenyn Cureton’s feature on Watchmen Pastors called “The Lost Episodes,” featuring how religion has had an impact on our Founding Fathers.

Secularism

International

Israel

International Economy and Family

Religious Persecution

Sharia law — U.S., foreign

The Courts

Constitutional Issues

Judicial Activism

Other News of Note

Book reviews

The Social Conservative Review: August 2, 2012

by Krystle Gabele

August 2, 2012

Click here to subscribe to The Social Conservative Review.


Dear Friends,

This week’s massive Indian blackout demonstrates again how reliant all of us are on an intricate and largely unseen web of hyrdo-electrical, electronic, and computer-related support systems.

A similar network, one seldom celebrated in media or academia, is composed of families, churches, synagogues, associations, charities, corporations and businesses. They form the undercarriage of our society and are equally critical to the well-being of us all.

As conservatives, it’s our job to strengthen this essential cultural power-grid. At the Family Research Council, our job is to help sustain and empower the institutions of marriage, church, and family so that the moral power failures we are experiencing don’t become overwhelming. With your God’s help and yours, we will continue doing just that.

Sincerely,

Rob Schwarzwalder
Senior Vice-President
Family Research Council

P.S. As this week marks the beginning of the Obama Administration’s contraception/abortifacient mandate on health insurance plans, be sure to visit FRC’s website to learn what we’re doing to support religious liberty and the rights of conscience.


Educational Freedom and Reform
Homeschooling

Legislation and Policy Proposals

College Debt

Government Reform
Regulation

Waste/Fraud/Abuse

Health Care
Abstinence

Conscience Protection

Health care reform: Political and Legislative efforts

Homosexuality

Human Life and Bioethics
Abortion

Bioethics and Biotechnology

Euthanasia and End of Life Issues

Stem Cell Research
To read about the latest advances in ethical adult stem cell research, keep up with leading-edge reports from FRC’s Dr. David Prentice, click here.

Human Trafficking

Women’s Health

Marriage and Family
Adoption

Family Economics

Family Structure

Media
Pornography

Internet

Religion and Public Policy
Religious Liberty

Religion in America
Check out Dr. Kenyn Cureton’s feature on Watchmen Pastors called “The Lost Episodes,” featuring how religion has had an impact on our Founding Fathers.

Secularism

International
Israel

International Economy and Family

Religious Persecution

Sharia law — U.S., foreign

The Courts
Constitutional Issues

Judicial Activism

Other News of Note

Book reviews

The Social Conservative Review—July 19, 2012

by Krystle Gabele

July 19, 2012

Click here to subscribe to The Social Conservative Review.


Dear Friends,

As the father of two Boy Scouts, I was grateful for this week’s announcement by the Boy Scouts of America that they would retain their ban on homosexuals from serving in leadership.

This isn’t about hate, intolerance, or bigotry. It is about:

** Protecting boys from predation. Historically, many thousands of boys were sexually abused while in Scouts. Not all homosexuals are predators - but all but a small number of the predators who have molested boys and young men in Scouting have been homosexual. All parents want their children protected from sexual assault, which is why the prohibition on homosexuals in Scouting helps prevent the participation of men who would take advantage of trusting young boys.

** Fiscal sanity. The BSA has paid-out tens of millions of dollars to boys who have been abused and to their families. Perhaps the advocates of homosexuality within Boy Scouts will offer to pay the organization’s massive litigation insurance premiums; so far, I’ve not heard such an offer made.

** A private organization upholding the moral standards on which it was founded. To this day, every Boy’s Life magazine features a Bible story, and biblical values of loyalty, honor, truthfulness, etc. are celebrated as Scout norms. The Scout promises to do his best to do his duty “to God and my country.” That moral foundation is why, in 2004, the Scouts’ National Council issued this statement: “Boy Scouts of America believes that homosexual conduct is inconsistent with the obligations in the Scout Oath and Scout Law to be morally straight and clean in thought, word, and deed.” Moreover, 70 percent of Scout troops are chartered by religious institutions, the majority of which teach that non-marital sexual intimacy is immoral. Are those who would open Scouts to homosexuality prepared to see hundreds of thousands, perhaps millions, of boys lose their troops because the churches and synagogues that sponsor them will not accept homosexuals in Scouting leadership?

The final line of the Scout Law is an affirmation of a Scout’s obligation to be “reverent.” The leadership of the Boy Scouts of America has affirmed its commitment to revere God and protect boys over the demands of the secular elite and homosexual activists. May the God of the Bible bless them for it.

Sincerely,

Rob Schwarzwalder

Senior Vice President

Family Research Council

P.S. Listen to FRC President Tony Perkins’ interview with Gov. Mike Huckabee on the Scouts’ decision here.


Educational Freedom and Reform

Homeschooling

Legislation and Policy Proposals

College Debt

Government Reform

Regulation

Waste/Fraud/Abuse

Health Care

Abstinence

Health care reform: Political and Legislative efforts

Homosexuality

Human Life and Bioethics

Abortion

Bioethics and Biotechnology

Euthanasia and End of Life Issues

Stem Cell Research

To read about the latest advances in ethical adult stem cell research, keep up with leading-edge reports from FRC’s Dr. David Prentice, click here.

Human Trafficking

Women’s Health

Marriage and Family

Adoption

Family Economics

Family Structure

Media

Pornography

Internet

Religion and Public Policy

Religious Liberty

Religion in America

Check out Dr. Kenyn Cureton’s feature on Watchmen Pastors called “The Lost Episodes,” featuring how religion has had an impact on our Founding Fathers.

Secularism

International

Israel

Religious Persecution

The Courts

Constitutional Issues

Judicial Activism

Other News of Note

Book reviews

Archives