Category archives: Social Conservative Review

Social Conservative Review - May 15, 2017

by Daniel Hart

May 15, 2017

Dear Friends,

A few weeks ago, an event occurred on my morning commute to work that has stuck with me ever since. As I was exiting the metro car at my station stop, I noticed a man standing to the side of the door outside of the car, waiting for myself and other passengers to exit before entering. His head was turned to his right, angrily glowering at a woman who was also outside of the car waiting to get on. As I stepped out of the car, I overhead the woman say in a low, even, and slightly nervous tone, “You heard me.” I instantly knew that she must have just uttered an insult, and was doubling down on it.

As I walked out of the metro station, I felt a churning clump in the pit of my stomach and a tinge of shame warming my cheeks. It was the same feeling I always get when I witness one person maltreating another, or right after I myself have wronged another person and immediately realize it. Think of those times when we observe a bitter argument, with insults and vilifications flying in every direction, or even in smaller disparagements that go unanswered but are no less cutting and hurtful. That bitterness seems to hang in the air, taking on a metaphysical reality that can be clearly sensed by our God-given consciences. Since our conscience is built in to our souls and delineated by our minds, and since our personhood is a union of mind and body, it makes perfect sense that our bodies react this way. When we witness the sins of others or commit sin ourselves, they physically manifest in our bodies, leaving a pit in our stomach and a bruise in our heart.

I say all this to emphasize an important principle of Christianity: nothing we do in life occurs in a vacuum. Every action has consequences. This reality is often ignored and rejected in our culture of individualism. Somehow, the idea of “victimless crimes” has become an accepted fact. This is wrong—our burning cheeks and sensitive souls tell us otherwise. The fact that we identify ourselves primarily through relationships (as a son, daughter, wife, husband, member of an organization, etc.) underscores how interconnected we are with one another and why our actions affect those around us so intimately. May we always remember that great adage that the character of Maximus instills in his soldiers in the film Gladiator: “What we do in life, echoes in eternity.”

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

GOP religious freedom bill restores free speech, not ‘dark money’Mandi Ancalle

Counterpoint: Trump — Destroying the Johnson AmendmentTravis Weber

Motherhood is Life-GivingDan Hart

Questions Abound Regarding Air Force Academy Commandant NomineePeter Sprigg

Yes, Trump’s HHS Appointee Charmaine Yoest is Pro-Life. Deal With ItDan Hart

 

Religious Liberty

Free to Believe”

Geologist Denied Samples from Grand Canyon Because of His FaithCBN News

Professor Tells Student to Stop Reading BibleToddStarnes.com

Christian Firefighter, Axed for Sharing His Faith, Now Heading to WA High CourtMark Martin, CBN News

Victory! Teacher fired for giving student a Bible — gets job backTodd Starnes, Fox News

International Religious Freedom

Global Persecution Rises for First Time in Three YearsMedium

Under Caesar’s Sword’: A Project to Aid Persecuted ChristiansJim Graves, National Catholic Register

The Land Of Athanasius and Its LessonsCharles J. Chaput, First Things

Persecution of Christians isn’t rareFranklin Graham, USA Today

Catholic School Faces LGBT Backlash for Canceling Gender Show for 5-year-oldsToddStarnes.com

Sentencing is a stark reminder of the global Islamist threatMischel Yosick, American Islamic Forum for Democracy

Whoever Wins Iran’s Election, Its Religious Minorities LoseKristina Arriaga, Wall Street Journal

Human rights lawyer unjustly tried for subversion in Hunan, pleads guilty after months of tortureChinaAid

Military Religious Freedom

Trump’s Army Secretary nominee: The left trying to ‘paint me as a hater’ for my Christian viewsPeter LaBarbera, LifeSiteNews

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Religious Liberty and the Common GoodGerard V. Bradley, Public Discourse

Gay couple can sue Kim Davis for damages, appeals court rulesLianne Laurence, LifeSiteNews

Christians Fight for Freedom of Conscience in IndianaPeter Heck, The Christian Post

Bible club for 1st-, 2nd-graders shut down by school district after complaintDave Urbanski, TheBlaze

Catholic’ college bans Chick-fil-A over gay students’ complaintsPeter LaBarbera, LifeSiteNews


Life

Abortion

The Problem With Linking Abortion and Economics – Lori Szala, The New York Times

Left Wants To Make Abortion An Economic Issue To Sideline Its AtrocitiesCullen Herout, The Federalist

The Real Life of the Pro-Life HomeRachel Jankovic, Desiring God

Thaddeus was almost aborted because of a rare disorder. His parents chose life, and saw a miracleDoug Mainwaring, LifeSiteNews

Adoption

Children Before PoliticsKevin D. Williamson, National Review

Bill protecting the religious freedom of Alabama faith-based adoption agencies officially becomes lawJordan LaPorta, Yellowhammer

Emotional Video of Adopted Man Thanking His Birth Mother Goes ViralSteven Ertelt, Life News

Bioethics

Sex Scandal: The Drive to Abolish Male and Female—and ChildbearingAlastair Roberts, The Gospel Coalition

The Embryo Orphanage: A Cautionary TaleAna Maria Dumitru, Public Discourse

Physician-Assisted Suicide Tells People Like Me That Our Lives Are No Longer Worth LivingZachary D. Schmoll, Public Discourse

Canada Considering Proposal to Allow Euthanizing Mentally Ill PatientsEric Metaxas, Life News

International furor erupts over embryo jewelry business  Samantha Gobba, WORLD

Obamacare

Aetna to exit Obamacare exchanges in 2 remaining states – Reuters

The House Has Passed Its Health Care Bill. Here’s What Senate Republicans Are Up To. – Sen. Mike Lee, The Daily Signal


Family

Economics/Education

The Decline of Mobility and the Decline of the Family – Robert VerBruggen, Family Studies

The Men Who Take ‘Women’s‘ Jobs – Alana Semuels, The Atlantic

Hidden horror of school sex assaults revealed by AP – Associated Press

Marriage

The Norm of Marital Monogamy Is Not Crumbling – Alan J. Hawkins, Family Studies

Stuffing Emotions is a False Way to Keep the Peace in Your Marriage – Lysa TerKeurst, Focus on the Family

What Makes Motherhood Worthwhile? – Rhonda Kruse Nordin, Family Studies

Video: Reclaiming Fatherhood Promotes Equality – The Wheatley Institution

The Brain Boosting Power of MotherhoodAshley McGuire, Family Studies

What our stay-at-home mom taught us about human dignityJill Waggoner and Allison Hucks, Ethics & Religious Liberty Commission

Faith/Character/Culture

Breaking Free From Identity Politics – Stephen Adubato, Ethika Politika

The real tragedy in the shooting of Jordan EdwardsJemar Tisby, CNN

Historian George Marsden revisits C.S. Lewis’s remarkable case for ‘Mere Christianity’Richard Ostling, GetReligion

How to Take Every Thought CaptiveRob Schwarzwalder, The Stream

Human Sexuality

4 Really good reasons ‘hooking up’ is a bad ideaChloe Mooradian, Aleteia

How Can You Live Without Sex?Ed Shaw, The Gospel Coalition

Democrats introduce bill to ban LGBT ‘conversion’ therapySteve Weatherbe, LifeSiteNews

Sharing Dinner and Jesus with StrippersSarah Eekhoff Zylstra, The Gospel Coalition

How Conversion Therapy Bans Will Trap Transgender ChildrenMarcus Gregory, The Federalist

Too young to cross a street but old enough for a sex changeJulie Borg, WORLD

Researchers Identify 6,500 Genes That Are Expressed Differently in Men and WomenWeizmann Wonder Wander

Pornography

4 Dozen Millennials Were Asked If They’d Watch Porn With Their Partner—Here’s What They Said – Fight the New Drug

Is Porn OK If It’s Made by Women? – Chelsea Samelson, Acculturated

Social Conservative Review - May 1, 2017

by Daniel Hart

May 1, 2017

Dear Friends,

Over the past few years, it has been clear that the mainstream media does not have a clue about the real world implications of the attacks on religious liberty that believers, particularly Christians, have been suffering. People like Donald Vander Boon and groups like the Little Sisters of the Poor have been repeatedly bullied by their own government into forced participation of an extreme LGBT and abortion agenda. For too long, the media has either ignored these stories or falsely portrayed believers as the “extremists.”

Now, a few cracks in this one-sided façade are starting to appear. A recent New Yorker article about Rod Dreher (author of The Benedict Option) quotes Andrew Sullivan, a Catholic writer who identifies as homosexual: “‘There is simply no way for an orthodox Catholic to embrace same-sex marriage,’ he said. ‘The attempt to conflate that with homophobia is a sign of the unthinking nature of some liberal responses to religion’ … ‘Rod forces you to understand what real pluralism is: actually accepting people with completely different world views than your own.’” The author goes on to restate Rod Dreher’s position: “You [progressives] wouldn’t sue Orthodox Jews or observant Muslims. Please don’t sue us, either.”

This echoes the point that believers have been making for years: that “tolerance” and “equality” must apply to those with sincerely held religious beliefs in a free society. In view of the vast number of people and organizations that have been persecuted for their beliefs, the highest levels of government must take action to protect their First Amendment rights. That is why FRC is hosting a special program “Free to Believe: Religious Liberty in the Land of the Free” that will be webcast on May 2nd at 2 pm EDT to discuss the need for positive protections for religious freedom, and steps that can be taken to secure religious liberty for all Americans.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

4 Entertaining Moments During Oral Arguments Over Banning Churches From Public FundsTravis Weber

The First 100 Days to Securing AmericaKen Blackwell

Students for Life Holds #Sockit2PP Rally Outside U.S. CapitolJoshua Denton

Where Are the “Equal Rights” of Unborn Babies?Dan Hart

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Protecting Religious Liberty Safeguards All Children on the Playground Equally – Nathaniel Bruno, Public Discourse

Florida Teacher Bans Cross Necklaces in Class, Promotes LGBT Day of Silence – Samuel Smith, The Christian Post

A popular public school Bible class in West Virginia faces legal challenge – Joe Heim, The Washington Post

At Berkeley, the Mob Wins Again – David French, National Review

Religious liberty still at risk under TrumpNick Eicher, WORLD

International Religious Freedom

Forgiveness: Muslims Moved as Coptic Christians Do the UnimaginableJayson Casper, Christianity Today

Nearly One Christian Killed Every Hour for Practicing FaithEdwin Mora, Breitbart

Anti-Christianity In FranceJean Duchesne, First Things

Religious Freedom Watchdog For the First Time Urges Blacklisting for RussiaPatrick Goodenough, CNS News

USCIRF names China flagrant religious freedom abuser in annual reportChinaAid

Military Religious Freedom

Military Chaplains Turn 100 Years Old as ‘Attacks’ on Service RiseCBN News

House Dems Push To Derail Mark Green For Army Secretary, Call Him ‘Homophobic’Jonah Bennett, The Daily Caller

 

Life

Abortion

New study finds preborn babies may feel pain in the first trimesterCassy Fiano, Live Action News

Planned Parenthood honors abortion “champions”Nick Eicher, WORLD

Video: Abortions increasing, services decreasing at Planned ParenthoodLive Action

Trump Admin Looking at Stopping Obama Ruling Forcing California Churches to Pay for AbortionsSteven Ertelt, LifeNews

10 Reasons Congress Should Defund Planned Parenthood, From Women Who Have Been ThereTheresa Bonopartis, The Federalist

Adoption

Girl adopted with all 5 siblings: ‘This is just what I wanted’Kevin Grasha, USA Today

As Number of Adoptions Drops, Many US Agencies Face StrainsDavid Crary, Associated Press

Bioethics

Shocking Report Shows Almost 6,100 People Were Killed in Assisted Suicide in the Netherlands Last YearAlex Schadenberg, LifeNews

Trading on the Female Body: Surrogacy, Exploitation, and Collusion by the US GovernmentKathleen Sloan, Public Discourse

970 People Were Killed Killed in Canada Last Year in Euthanasia or Assisted SuicideAlex Schadenberg, LifeNews

Obamacare

Running The Numbers On Mortality Rates Suggests Obamacare Could Be Killing PeopleBrian Frankie, The Federalist

 

Family

Economics/Education

On Tax Day, Let’s Work Toward More Family-Friendly Tax Policies – Alysse ElHage, Family Studies

Education Is A Market Whether Liberals Like It Or Not – Joy Pullmann, The Federalist

A Bipartisan Case for School Choice – Melissa Moschella, Public Discourse

Putting First Things First in a College Education – Michael Scaperlanda, Crisis

Should Mothers’ Labor Force Participation Be a Policy Goal? – Amber Lapp, Family Studies

Millennials Are Embracing Traditional Gender Roles in Record NumbersRelevant

More education means less religious commitment — unless you’re Christian – Emily McFarlan Miller, Religion News Service

Marriage

Why Millennial Women Delay MarriageJennifer Murff, The Christian Post

Census: More Americans 18-to-34 Now Live With Parents Than With SpouseTerence P. Jeffrey, CNS News

Marriage is still the gold standard of family stabilityKiley Crossland, WORLD

Who is at Risk for a Gray Divorce? It DependsNaomi Cahn, Family Studies

Faith/Character/Culture

Is this the most destructive element in human nature?David Mills, Aleteia

The Too-Small Story of HomeJen Pollock Michel, The Gospel Coalition

Why Isn’t There More Evidence For God?Fredric Heidemann, Word On Fire

Human Sexuality

Harvard: Students can change gender daily, saying otherwise is ‘violence’Fr. Mark Hodges, LifeSiteNews

Why Are So Many Lesbians Getting Pregnant?Glenn Stanton, Public Discourse

Bravo to the Truth: What’s Wrong with Transgender IdeologyWalt Heyer, Public Discourse

Sex Education in California Sparks Culture ClashJoan Frawley Desmond, National Catholic Register

Why Is Female Genital Mutilation Still Happening in the U.S.?Phyllis Chesler, Middle East Forum

Transgender Kids: Are We Doing More Harm Than Good?Todd A. Whitworth, First, Do No Harm: Youth Gender Professionals

Human Trafficking

The Battle against Sex Trafficking of MinorsGeorge Will, National Review

Mom’s story of ‘attempted sex trafficking’ goes viral — but is it the whole story?Ashley Jonkman, Aleteia

U.S. Lawmakers Seek to End Impunity for Online Sale of ChildrenLisa Correnti, C-Fam

India’s human trafficking and rape survivors make their own justiceCalah Alexander, Aleteia

Pornography

In War on Child Porn, US Turns Wounded Soldiers Into Hunters – Victoria Macchi, VOA News

Group pushes back on pornography with science – Rob Rogers, Billings Gazette

Social Conservative Review - April 18, 2017

by Daniel Hart

April 18, 2017

Dear Friends,

Why be Christian? Out of all the religions and philosophies in the world that vie for the God-sized hole in every human heart, why choose Christianity?

For believers, there are a limitless amount of ways to answer this fundamental question, and we should “always be prepared to make a defense to any one who calls you to account for the hope that is in you,” as 1 Peter 3:15 entreats us. But where does one start in this defense? If one were to synthesize the most basic argument for Christ, what would it be?

In pondering this question, I was particularly struck by a point that Regis Martin recently made in Crisis. He describes a Christian as “someone who carries within him the adamantine conviction that Another accompanies him every step of the way.” In other words, Christianity is tangibly human and personal because “in showing us the face of Christ, we are thus given a saving glimpse of Someone to whom we may entrust everything, including especially our brokenness and sin.”

Martin goes on to quote Joseph Ratzinger (who later became Pope Benedict XVI), who wrote that “the most fundamental feature of faith … [is] its personal character”:

Christian faith is more than the option in favor of a spiritual ground to the world; its central formula is not ‘I believe in something,’ but ‘I believe in Thee.’ It is the encounter with the human being Jesus, and in this encounter it experiences the meaning of the world as a person.

[T]he meaning of the world as a person.” It seems to me that this precisely encapsulates “the hope that is in us.” It captures a lightness of feeling that is almost impossible to put into words; it’s that serene trust that comes with the knowledge that no matter what sufferings we undergo in life, Christ suffered just the same, even to the point of dying for our sins. Because of this, we are and will always remain a child of God that was loved into being and will be loved for all eternity.

God, who is one with Christ (John 10:30), is our Heavenly Father and we are his children. For many believers, therefore, the Christian faith beautifully intertwines with our natural experience of growing up under the protection of a loving earthly father. This is why the family must be strengthened, nurtured, and upheld in our society—it is the earthly reflection of God’s heavenly love for us.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

The ‘bigly,’ and necessary, humility of Judge Neil GorsuchTravis Weber

Think Slavery Has Been Eradicated in the 21st Century? You’d Be Wrong.Travis Weber

Hopeful Signs of Resurrection in AmericaDan Hart

The Plight of Jews in PakistanChris Gacek

Gorsuch on International and Foreign LawTravis Weber

Christianity in Iraq Appears Doomed to ExtinctionChris Gacek

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

GOP Calls on Trump to Honor Promise to Defend Religious LibertyToddStarnes.com

Texas Governor Abbott: Restore Religious Leaders’ Right To Endorse Political CampaignsHank Berrien, The Daily Wire

Atheist Group Says It’s Unconstitutional for College Football Coach to Tweet About GodSamuel Smith, The Christian Post

Supreme Court readies for religious liberty showdownEvan Wilt, WORLD

International Religious Freedom

Extermination of Christians in Egypt Not Getting Enough AttentionSusan Jones, CNS News

China Installing Spy Cameras in ChurchesKim Smith, Conservative Tribune

Jehovah’s Witnesses banned as “extremists” by RussiaJohn Burger, Aleteia

USCIRF to Launch Extensive List of People Imprisoned for Their Faith WorldwideSamuel Smith, The Christian Post

Religious Liberty Increasingly Under Threat in India Amid Surge of Hindu NationalismJames Di Pane and Olivia Enos, The Daily Signal

Fight for me’Mindy Belz, WORLD

Military Religious Freedom

I am not ashamed of my faith:’ Air Force officer punished for Christian view of marriage speaks outFr. Mark Hodges, LifeSiteNews

 

Life

Abortion

Abortion and Bodily AutonomyJames Gottry, Medium

Why Can Rivers Be Granted Legal Personhood But Not Human Babies? – Zachary D. Schmoll, The Federalist

10 babies born alive after abortions in 2015 – in only 3 statesCarole Novielli, Live Action News

40 Days for Life Ends With 437 Babies Saved From Abortion, 1 Abortion Clinic Closed and One Staffer QuitShawn Carney, LifeNews

Arkansas Bans Sex-Selective AbortionsBrian Fraga, National Catholic Register

Pro-lifers Celebrate Huge Win at UN CommissionStefano Gennarini, C-Fam

Adoption

Society Can Never Make Up For The Husband Single Moms Don’t HaveRebekah Curtis, The Federalist

Bishops back bill to let agencies opt out of adoption for same-sex couplesCatholic News Service

Bioethics

Canada harvesting the organs of euthanasia patientsSamantha Gobba, Baptist Press

Charlie Gard case: Doctors can withdraw baby’s life supportBBC

Ontario sets up ‘death hotline’ to force doctors to comply with having patients killedLianne Laurence, LifeSiteNews

Rent-a-wombMary Jackson, WORLD

 

Family

Economics/Education

Religion and Inequality – Eric Metaxas & Roberto Rivera, BreakPoint

Surveying Sex, Denying Childhood – Carl R. Trueman, First Things

The Cancer Eating Away at College Campuses – Walter E. Williams, The Daily Signal

Marriage

A Gender-Neutral Marriage Is Not the Only Path to Equality – Ashley McGuire, Family Studies

Family Trees and the Troubling Problem of Absent FathersRoland C. Warren, Care Net

Why Would Millennial Men Prefer Stay-at-home Wives? Ethnicity and Choice FeminismW. Bradford Wilcox, Family Studies

How a Man Loves a WomanBen Stuart, Desiring God

A Child of Divorce Speaks Out on the Importance of a FamilyJim Graves, National Catholic Register

Faith/Character/Culture

Too many Christians have decided that the world is bad …”Tom Hoopes, Aleteia

Love People Enough to Tell the TruthRyan Bomberger, The Christian Post

The Case For Christ” and A Stubbornly Historical ReligionBp. Robert Barron, Word On Fire

Human Sexuality

Sounding the alarmSophia Lee, WORLD

New Research on Unmarried Mothers and Family FormationNaomi Cahn, Family Studies

Surveying Sex, Denying ChildhoodCarl R. Trueman, First Things

Boys Will Keep Winning Girls’ Sports Trophies Until We Are Willing To Re-Assert Sex DistinctionsJoy Pullmann, The Federalist

Protecting Women from Sexual Assault Requires Acknowledging the Differences between Men and WomenAshley McGuire, Verily

Human Trafficking

Eyes of the highways: Raising a ‘trucker army’ for trafficking fightEoghan Macguire, CNN

Pornography

What If My Husband Looks at Porn? – Kara Garis, Desiring God

12 Ways Pornography Just Doesn’t Show Enough – Dustin Murphy, The Federalist

Social Conservative Review - April 3, 2017

by Daniel Hart

April 3, 2017

Dear Friends,

Should Christians retreat from an increasingly hostile culture into supportive enclaves in order to be “a people set apart,” or should believers instead fearlessly engage the culture with the truth in order to bring Christ’s light to the world? This debate has been raging in the blogosphere for quite some time, but recently it has reached a fever pitch following the release of Rod Dreher’s highly anticipated book The Benedict Option, in which the author argues that the church should “embrace exile from mainstream culture and construct a resilient counterculture.”

Among the many passionate and articulate articles that have analyzed this question lately, I found Eric Metaxas’ recent piece to be particularly thought provoking. In it, he points to a new book by Makoto Fujimura called Culture Care to make the observation that Christians should most definitely engage the culture in order to transform it, but should do so not by focusing solely on fighting the culture wars: “I believe even more important for Christians than being on the front lines of the culture war is participating in the culture—and better yet, helping to create and nurture it. If the main contribution that Christians make to culture is complaining about it, we’re doing something wrong.”

Interestingly, Rod Dreher himself would likely agree. In an interview a few weeks ago, he said: “Even if Trump does everything we religious conservatives want him to do, it’s not going to turn the culture around—it’s the culture that we as believers have got to pay closer attention to; it’s not about politics, it’s about culture.”

I would argue that believers should employ a “both/and” approach rather than an “either/or” one. In other words, our engagement should not be framed in terms of either fighting political battles or focusing on the arts. When the time comes to stand for truth by supporting a political cause, there should be no backing down. But just as important is the effort to support good art that can in turn influence culture in a positive way.

Metaxas cites Fujimura’s analogy of a garden to illustrate this point: “His image of a garden is just one of many he draws from nature, to show how we can carefully and patiently help to cultivate that cultural environment and make good things grow in it. So, how do we do this? Fujimura suggests that both Christians and the arts community start by learning to look at each other as potential allies, even friends, instead of as sworn enemies. He asks us to consider investing in cultural works, as we’re able to afford it.”

Metaxas continues: “This isn’t always easy work, but it’s extremely valuable and worthwhile. It requires thoughtful engagement instead of blanket condemnation, and it may call for us to broaden our understanding and deal with ideas that seem unfamiliar and uncomfortable. But from such efforts come moments that he calls ‘generative,’ or ‘life-giving.’ Christians who enjoy and support art and culture, who make it a priority in their lives, and who reach out to those in the arts instead of reflexively pushing them away, can help bring the culture toward a renewed appreciation of goodness, truth, and beauty. And that is good for everyone.”

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

Religious Liberty: An Introduction to Our Freedom to Believe  Travis Weber

During His Hearings, Neil Gorsuch Answered Tough Questions With EaseMandi Ancalle

Gorsuch’s Pro-Life PromiseArina Grossu

Don’t let ‘TrumpCare’ come at the cost of Trump’s pro-life pledgeJeanne Mancini and Tony Perkins

Should Stay-At-Home Moms Be Forced To Work?Peter Witkowski

Boys Need FathersDan Hart

One Year Anniversary of the United States Declaring ISIS’ Actions to be GenocideTravis Weber

The Amish: America’s Fastest Growing Church?Peter Witkowski

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Justice Alito says country increasingly ‘hostile’ to ‘traditional moral beliefs’David Porter, Chicago Tribune

End Bible classes? West Virginia school seeks to dismiss atheist lawsuitFox News

School Orders Boy to “Tolerate” Undressing with Girl and Make it “Natural”ToddStarnes.com

In Oregon, the left targets an evangelical GOP judgeRalph Z. Hallow, The Washington Times

A Justice Gorsuch will defend religious libertyAmy Vitale, The Hill

International Religious Freedom

To Win Back What We’ve Lost: How Defenders of Religious Freedom Are Fighting to Reclaim International LawBenjamin Bull, Public Discourse

Canada passes motion to silence critics of IslamPete Baklinski, LifeSiteNews

Globalist Illusions and the Folly of Global GovernanceSamuel Gregg, Public Discourse

Military Religious Freedom

Chaplains to Army: Cease training that assaults biblical beliefsChaplain Alliance For Religious Liberty

First Liberty Institute Seeks Justice for Air Force Colonel Targeted for His FaithPenny Starr, Breitbart

 

Life

Abortion

40 Days for Life Prayer Campaigns Have Collectively Saved 13,000 Babies From Abortion – Shawn Carney and David Brando, Life News

California’s Moral Atrocity – Ian Tuttle, National Review

CLOSED: Maryland Planned Parenthood abortion clinic shuts downNancy Flanders, Live Action News

Paul Ryan: Planned Parenthood to be defunded through reconciliationBradford Richardson, The Washington Times

Adoption

First Comes Love, Then Comes AdoptionAaron Menikoff, The Gospel Coalition

Expert talks about the rewards and challenges of international adoptionJon Kelvey, Carroll County Times

Bioethics

Canada Conjoins Euthanasia and Organ HarvestingWesley J. Smith, National Review

Oregon Proposes Outright Legalization of EuthanasiaCullen Herout, Crisis

Handful of Senate Dems help Republicans defeat aid-in-dying billSteve Terrell, The New Mexican

The Demise of Language and the Rise of CloningMichael Wee, Public Discourse

Science For Three-Parent Babies Is Here, But Is It Ethical?Nora Sullivan, The Daily Caller

 

Family

Economics/Education

Family Collapse And Poor Economic Prospects Led To High White Mortality Rate, Study Authors Say – Alex Pfeiffer, The Daily Caller

Lean In’s Biggest Hurdle: What Most Moms Want – Steven E. Rhoads, Family Studies

Marriage

Why the Little Moments in Marriage Matter – Anna Sutherland, Family Studies

Study: Children Born to Married Parents More Likely to Experience Family Stability – Michael Gryboski, The Christian Post

Yesterday’s Love Stories: The Gray Divorce Phenomenon – Rhonda Kruse Nordin, Family Studies

Should stay-at-home moms be outlawed? – Calah Alexander, Aleteia

Faith/Character/Culture

God Will Triumph: A Response to Rod Dreher’s Benedict Option – Rob Schwarzwalder, The Stream

How John Piper’s Seashells Swept Over a Generation – Sarah Eekhoff Zylstra, The Gospel Coalition

Are We Living In The Matrix? – Joe Heschmeyer, Word On Fire

The Beauty of Women Will Save the World – Carrie Gress, National Catholic Register

Christians: Stop Fighting the Culture and Start Caring for It – Eric Metaxas, The Christian Post

Human Sexuality

Fertility Awareness-Based Family Planning: Good for Both Body and Soul – Ana Maria Dumitru, Public Discourse

What Is Really Best for Me? Applying the Bible to the Same-Sex-Attracted – Nick Roen, Desiring God

Supreme Incoherence: Transgender Ideology and the End Of Law – Jeff Shafer, First Things

May I Please Speak to My Daddy? – Doug Mainwaring, Public Discourse

Mike Pence’s Wise Family Practices Expose a Deep Divide Over Human Nature – David French, National Review

Blurred Lines: Understanding The Effort To Redefine Gender And Sexuality – B. Christopher Agee, Western Journalism

Human Trafficking

Trafficking Survivors Tell UN: Strengthen Families To Protect Women and GirlsMarianna Orlandi, C-Fam

Pornography

Resources to Protect Your Children from Pornography – Nebraska Family Alliance

Report: Pornography Use Tied to Relationship Dissatisfaction – Thomas D. Williams, Breitbart

4 Problems With Watching Porn You May Not Have Known About – Fight The New Drug

Porn is dangerous … That’s why Arkansas lawmakers are calling it a ‘public health crisis’ – Peter LaBarbera, LifeSiteNews

Social Conservative Review - March 16, 2017

by Daniel Hart

March 16, 2017

Dear Friends,

By now, you have probably seen or heard about the viral video of a dad whose kids unexpectedly burst into his home office during a live BBC interview he is doing over Skype. It was a hilariously endearing moment, and not just because of the panicked yet heroic efforts of the man’s wife as she swooped in to grab the kids. For me, it was also a messily beautiful reminder of the intimate connection between work and the family.

In today’s culture, work is often trumpeted as an end in itself. A high-paying career is frequently seen as something that can be pursued at all costs, without regard to the detrimental effects that this can have on one’s personal life. This attitude causes a tragic segmentation in life, which should be holistic in nature. A career should never be pursued at the expense of neglecting the relationships that sustain us and that we are called by God to nurture. A “career first” mentality has it exactly backward—work should always be in the service of our families and our communities.

Another sad tendency in modern culture is to distort the definition of “work” itself. When studies come out showing that wives on average do more housework than husbands and husbands on average engage in more paid work than wives, cries of “inequality!” are yelped from the rooftops of mainstream media outlets. But let’s stop and think about this for a minute: one person works for the money to pay for the groceries; the other uses the groceries to prepare the meals. Both activities are different kinds of work that are equally important and intrinsically united—if either of the two are not done, nobody eats.

I say all this to illustrate my central point: an increasingly secular culture tends to strictly divide “professional life” from “personal life.” But in a wonderfully unscripted moment during a live BBC newscast, this artificial edifice was briefly torn down with the help of an excited toddler and her sibling.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

I’m Grateful for the Restoration of the Mexico City Policy This International Women’s DayArina Grossu

Another Chance for President Trump to Make Sure Foreign Governments Play by the RulesKen Blackwell

Judge Neil Gorsuch: The Case for ConfirmationTravis Weber and Chris Gacek

The Refugee Implications of President Trump’s Executive Orders – Travis Weber

Joseph Nicolosi, Father of “Reparative Therapy” for Homosexuality, Dies Suddenly – Peter Sprigg

A Biblical Perspective on Immigration – Travis Weber

President Trump’s Executive Orders on Immigration: Religious Freedom and Other Implications – Travis Weber

The U.S. No Longer Funds Overseas Abortions. Canada and Europe Grind Their Teeth – Dan Hart

Voiceless: Christians Must Engage the Culture to Fight Abortion – Dan Hart

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

The Rioters Are WinningDavid French, National Review

Over 150 conservative leaders urge Trump to sign order protecting religious libertyClaire Chretien, LifeSiteNews

School: Trump Chant is Hate SpeechToddStarnes.com

Just Because Liberals Call Something ‘Discrimination’ Doesn’t Mean It Actually IsRyan T. Anderson, The Daily Signal

International Religious Freedom

Christians are the world’s most persecuted religious group, according to studiesZoe Romanowsky, Aleteia

United Nations Committee Demands Ireland Legalize AbortionMicaiah Bilger, LifeNews

Pro-Life Counseling Becomes Illegal in FranceMarie Meaney, Crisis

Liberal bill empowers gvmt to take kids from Ontario parents who don’t accept gender ideology: legal experts – Lianne Laurence, LifeSiteNews

Christian Group Compassion International Closes India Operations Amid Crackdown by Hindu Nationalists – Anugrah Kumar, The Christian Post

2016 Annual Report: Chinese Government Persecution of Churches and Christians in Mainland China  – China Aid

Military Religious Freedom

Air Force Says Words Like ‘Boy’ & ‘Girl’ Could be OffensiveToddStarnes.com

Religious Freedom Group Defends Military Chaplains’ Right to Pray at Official EventsLiberty McArtor, The Stream

 

Life

Abortion

Canadian gvmt pledges $650 million to increase abortion globallyLianne Laurence, LifeSiteNews

Hawaii considering bill to force church, pro-life centers to promote abortion – Bradford Richardson, The Washington Times

One Planned Parenthood Clinic Has Injured Women in 64 Botched Abortions, Has 39 Health Violations – Cheryl Sullenger, Life News

Pro-Life, Pro-TruthAlexi Sargeant, First Things

In Iceland 100% of babies diagnosed with Down syndrome are aborted. Think about that.Lauren Bell, LifeSiteNews

Human Rights Activist: Forced Abortion Policy Leads to 23 Million Abortions a Year in China – Penny Starr, Breitbart

Adoption

New South Dakota law could protect religious adoption agencies – Catholic News Agency

How 5 siblings pleading to stay together as a family became a ‘great crisis’Rick Montgomery, The Sacramento Bee

Nebraska’s budget squeeze puts post-adoption help at riskMartha Stoddard, Omaha World-Herald

Bioethics

Embryo Experiments Reveal Earliest Human Development, But Stir Ethical DebateRob Stein, NPR

Science confirms that human life begins at fertilizationLuke Faulkner, Live Action News

Alaska Legislature Will Hold Hearing on Dangerous Bill Legalizing Assisted Suicide – Steve Ertelt, LifeNews

Democrats Push Bill to Legalize Assisted Suicide in Wisconsin – Erin Parfet, LifeNews

Maryland Pro-Life Advocates Stop Bill to Legalize Assisted Suicide – Dave Andrusko, LifeNews

Obamacare

Repealing Obamacare Will Create, Not Kill, JobsJohn R. Graham, Independent Institute

Pro-Life Groups Sound Caution on Obamacare Replacement Bill – Rachel del Guidice, The Daily Signal

 

Family

Economics/Education

Can Declining Productivity Growth Be Reversed? – Bourree Lam, The Atlantic

Marriage

Your Marriage: You Have No Idea of the Good You Are DoingDoug Mainwaring, Public Discourse

Married Parenthood Remains the Best Path to a Stable FamilyAlysse ElHage, Family Studies

Couple with Down Syndrome Criticized over Engagement. But after Twenty-Two Years of Marriage, See Them NowNoell Wolfgram Evans, Liftable

Is Your Smartphone Coming Between You and Your Spouse?Greg Smalley, Focus on the Family

Sex in the Modern MarriageAshley McGuire, Family Studies

How Faith Influences Divorce DecisionsSteven M. Harris, Family Studies

Faith/Character/Culture

Ideology and the Corruption of LanguageRandall Smith, Public Discourse

Throw Like a Girl: Why Feminism Insults Real WomenRebekah Merkle, Desiring God

Day Without Women’ Measures Women’s Value The Wrong WayGracy Olmstead, The Federalist

Out of the Ashes: Anthony Esolen’s Clarion Call to Restore Culture, Faith, and Sanity – Michael Bradley, Public Discourse

Emma Watson Explains Perfectly Why I’m A Woman Who Is Afraid Of Feminism – Monica Gabriel Marshall, Verily

Human Sexuality

A Requiem for Friendship – Anthony Esolen, Touchstone

Life in a Foreign Country: Navigating Our Culture’s Change on SexualityEd Shaw, The Gospel Coalition

Biology Isn’t Bigotry: Christians, Lesbians, and Radical Feminists Unite to Fight Gender IdeologyEmily Zinos, Public Discourse

Americans having less sex than they once didTara Bahrampour, The Washington Post

Putting genies back into bottles: Sex before marriageKatrina Fernandez, Aleteia

Human Trafficking

Film spotlights human trafficking as Trump promises actionAP News

Human trafficking growing problem in metro AtlantaNathalie Pozo, Fox 5

Pornography

The High Cost of Free Porn – Owen Strachan, Desiring God

Is Life Better Without Porn? – Frank Honess, The Christian Post

Social Conservative Review - March 1, 2017

by Daniel Hart

March 1, 2017

Dear Friends,

In a recent interview with The Rubin Report, Bp. Robert Barron gave a concise answer to the question of why Christians don’t lower their moral standards on issues like abortion and same-sex marriage so that they can retain more members:

We’re calling people to a radical sanctity. It’s a high bar on purpose. We don’t dial down the ideals because people find them difficult or they’ll walk away because of them. Apply that back to sexual matters—it’s a similar situation. The church is extreme in its demand … because it wants its people to be saints, not mediocrities.”

Keeping moral standards high is crucial in combatting current cultural trends that encourage mediocrity (or worse). As David French writes in National Review, leading a stress-free, problem-free life at any cost appears to be the goal of many in our culture instead of pursuing virtue. This “flight from pain” has become a disturbing pattern in American life. Stress and sadness are treated with prescription drugs. Marriage must have a trial run of cohabitation, and can be bailed on completely with divorce. Suicides have surged to a 30-year high, with drug overdoses increasing by 33 percent in the last five years. With the rise of assisted suicide, many apparently can’t even bear the thought of death itself happening without their permission.

French goes on to make this observation: “I can’t help wonder how much of this change is connected to the loss of faith, to the absence of the eternal perspective. Everything that matters is here, on this earth, and given the fragility of life is it not entirely rational to do all you reasonably can to make it as comfortable as it can be?”

Believers know that it is in the pursuit of virtue that human beings attain happiness. Leading a Christian life means setting the bar of moral behavior high. This means that our lives will be anything but stress-free; it will often mean a flight into pain rather than a flight from it. Christ made this quite clear in Matthew 7:14: “For the gate is narrow and the way is hard, that leads to life, and those who find it are few.”

May we always strive for that life that Christ has promised, and in so doing raise our culture out of mediocrity. Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

Trump Returns Authority Over School Transgender Policies to States and LocalitiesPeter Sprigg

Trump: Please Stop Gov’t Meat Inspectors’ Threats to Religious FreedomTony Perkins

Trump Reverses Federal Bathroom Folly, Will Fairfax Follow?Cathy Ruse

How the market can fix health careKen Blackwell

Neil Gorsuch’s Proven Track Record of Protecting Religious LibertyTravis Weber

40 Days for Life Speech in Front of D.C.’s Planned ParenthoodArina Grossu

Big Abortion” Wants the Dangerous Pregnancy-Destroying Drug Mifepristone (RU-486) Sold in Local PharmaciesChris Gacek

On School Bathrooms and BullyingDan Hart

D.C.’s Inhuman Assisted Suicide Law Must Be RepealedDan Hart

How did the Washington State Supreme Court Get Barronelle Stutzman’s Case So Wrong?Travis Weber

Don’t Be Misled By National Geographic and Katie Couric: Three Things to Know About “Gender Identity”Peter Sprigg

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Liberal Protestors Lose It When Town Hall Chaplain Prays in Jesus’ NameCBN News

Religious intolerance at USDA latest example of need for religious freedom orderAlliance Defending Freedom

Washington floral artist to ask US Supreme Court to protect her freedomAlliance Defending Freedom

International Religious Freedom

France passes law imposing up to two years prison for running pro-life websitesJeanne Smits, LifeSiteNews

Chinese Christians Sentenced to Up to 7 Years in Prison Over Christian DevotionalsStoyan Zaimov, The Christian Post

Egyptian Christians Warned to ‘Leave or Die’ as 40 Copts Killed in Last 3 MonthsSamuel Smith, The Christian Post

 

Life

Abortion

Does Abortion Really Prevent Child Abuse?Mike Adams, Townhall

Planned Parenthood Kills 323,999 Babies in Abortions, Provides Only 17,419 Moms Prenatal CareRandall O’Bannon, LifeNews

Leading Physician Confirms Unborn Children Feel Excruciating Pain During AbortionsLifeNews

Magazines Like Teen Vogue Hard-Sell Abortion To Fill The Pockets Of Big CompaniesSue Ellen Browder, The Federalist

Fact Check: Abortion Is Not ‘The Most Safest Medical Procedure In America’Machaiah Bilger, LifeNews

The Pro-Life Legacy of Norma McCorvey, the ‘Roe’ of Roe v. WadeKatrina Trinko, The Daily Signal

Oklahoma Lawmaker Tarred For Saying Abortion Choice Should Include FathersNicole Russell, The Federalist

Adoption

Adoption agency’s demise sheds light on troubled industryKate Gibson, CBS News

Mom’s inspiring adoption story of 3-year-old girl born without arms or legsJennifer Earl, CBS News

Bioethics

Washington, D.C., now seventh place in U.S. to officially legalize assisted suicideClaire Chretien, LifeSiteNews

Should We Ban Donor Anonymity?Alana Newman, Family Studies

Oregon Assisted Suicide Deaths Hit Record High in 2016 as Abuses ContinueAlex Schadenberg, LifeNews

Assisted Suicide Deaths Can be Horrifyingly Slow and Painful – Alex Schadenberg, LifeNews

Obamacare

Replacing Obamacare and Insuring the Uninsured – John C. Goodman, Pete Sessions, Bill Cassidy, Independent Institute

One Mom’s Fight for Her Special Needs Son in the Age of Obamacare – Melissa Quinn, The Daily Signal

Congress Should Fix Obamacare By Giving Health Care Back To States – John Daniel Davidson, The Federalist

 

Family

Economics/Education

How Arizona Is Using Licensure Laws to Punish Compassion – David Rosenthal, The Daily Signal

Protectionism and a Universal Basic Income Won’t Solve Our Economic Problems – Dylan Pahman, Public Discourse

How Trade With China Hurt Marriage Prospects for Low-Skilled Men – Robert VerBruggen, Family Studies

Marriage

Should Couples in Unhappy Marriages Stay Together?Harry Benson, Family Studies

How to Raise Changing Children in a Changing CultureMelissa Kruger, The Gospel Coalition

Secrets of Being a Happy WifeFawn Weaver, Focus on the Family

Faith/Character/Culture

It’s a Wonderful Time to Be ChristianGarrett Kell, Desiring God

What is Wrong with Us? How Should Christians Respond?Rachel Lu, Crisis

Evangelizing Through the GoodBp. Robert Barron, Word On Fire

You Can’t Win the Neighbor You FearCollin Hansen, The Gospel Coalition

When the Pursuit of Happiness Becomes the Flight from PainDavid French, National Review

Human Sexuality

Scarlett Johansson and the Great Adventure Of MonogamyJared Zimmerer, Word On Fire

Most Still Say Transgender Bathroom Policy Not A Federal IssueRasmussen Reports

How Far Should Government Go to Encourage Couples to Reproduce?Naomi Schaefer Riley, Family Studies

What Happens When Men Have Sex with Teenage BoysChad Felix Greene, The Huffington Post

If Child Sex Is More Common Among Gay Men, Are We Okay With That?Daniel Payne, The Federalist

Human Trafficking

Ashton Kutcher delivers emotional testimony in fight against sex-traffickingPhilip Kosloski, Aleteia

Authorities: Human traffickers using new tactics to capture victimsMelissa Howell, WSET

Pornography

2017 Dirty Dozen ListNational Center on Sexual Exploitation

My Big Sister, The Porn Star: How Her Career Damaged Her Life And Our FamilyFight the New Drug

Virginia, South Dakota vote overwhelmingly to recognize porn as ‘public health crisis’ – Fr. Mark Hodges, LifeSiteNews

Social Conservative Review - February 15, 2017

by Daniel Hart

February 15, 2017

Dear Friends,

Before his beautiful treatise of love in 1 Corinthians 13, the Apostle Paul gives a stern warning:

If I speak in the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I am a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. And if I have prophetic powers, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have all faith, so as to remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. If I give away all I have, and if I deliver my body to be burned, but have not love, I gain nothing.”

In the current political and cultural climate, these words pose a particular challenge for believers. Marco Rubio recently characterized our times this way: “We are reaching a point in this republic where we are not going to be able to solve the simplest of issues because everyone is putting themselves in a corner where everyone hates everybody.” While there are many reasons why we have gotten to this place in our culture, I think an underlying cause can be traced back to what Paul was talking about in 1 Corinthians: when people with good intentions fail to act with love, whether it be in speech or in action, their efforts backfire. It’s not an exaggeration to say that a large percentage of news stories and commentary these days seem to be primarily concerned with scoring points against perceived enemies rather than to charitably inform, engage, and persuade. Both conservatives and liberals are guilty of this.

This is a failure to love. For believers, the temptation here can be to beat the opposition over the head with the Truth, and when that fails, to fight fire with more fire. After all, many argue, what else can be done when the other side refuses to even engage in a debate and instead resorts to name calling and straw man tantrums? This may be true, but believers must not succumb to tactics that society has deemed acceptable. Rather, we must present the Truth in charity and love. Hearts and minds are changed through patient forbearance, genuine empathy, and truthful proposals, as difficult and frustrating as this is to do.

With the knowledge that Christ, who is Truth Incarnate, will ultimately triumph, let us always argue and debate in charity and love. This will often mean that we will “lose” in the court of public opinion, and our pride will be humbled. But Christ experienced no less. Let us pray that everyone, believers and non-believers alike, whether they be in public office, public policy, or the media, will come to know this truth.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

Free pastors from the Johnson AmendmentTony Perkins

Shulkin Poised to Address Concerns at the VALt. Gen. (Ret.) Jerry Boykin

Everything The Women’s March Movement Wants You To Believe About It Is A LieSarah Perry

Judge Gorsuch Is A Mainstream ConstitutionalistKen Blackwell

Marriage: The Abundant LifeDan Hart

UN: Religious Persecution of Rohingyas Reaches Horrific LevelsTravis Weber

What You May Not Know President Trump Said at the National Prayer BreakfastTravis Weber

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

How to Think About Discrimination: Race, Sex, and SOGIRyan T. Anderson, Public Discourse

Homeschool Family Sues NYC After Being Subjected to 60-Day InvestigationSamuel Smith, The Christian Post

Tony Perkins Hails ‘Victory’ in $225K Settlement for Fired Pastor; Georgia Says He Wasn’t Fired for FaithLeonardo Blair, The Christian Post

International Religious Freedom

New UN LGBT Expert Doubles Down Against Religious FreedomStefano Gennarini, C-Fam

U.K.: Preacher jailed for sharing Bible teaching with homosexual teenClaire Chretien, LifeSiteNews

Asia Bibi: Putting Seven Years Imprisonment Into PerspectiveDavid Curry, The Christian Post

Rubio urges Trump to uphold religious freedom and human rights in China – China Aid

Military Religious Freedom

Navy’s ‘diversity road map’ lays foundation for multiethnic force protected against discrimination – Rowan Scarborough, The Washington Times

 

Life

Abortion

How Women Can Help Abortion-Proof Their CommunitiesKat Talalas, The Federalist

More Pregnant Women Choose Life Over Abortion Than Ever Before – Macaiah Bilger, LifeNews

Abortion Widens the Gender Gap and Exploits WomenBrian E. Fisher, Public Discourse

Planned Parenthood offered incentives, ‘pizza parties’ for meeting quotasKate Scanlon, TheBlaze

Post-abortive woman: Seeing my aborted baby was “the worst moment of my life”Nancy Flanders, Live Action News

Fact Check: Abortion Is Not ‘The Most Safest Medical Procedure In America’ – Jay Hobbs, The Federalist

Adoption

Foster Care as the Way of ChristDarren Carlson, Desiring God

Firefighter adopts baby he delivered on emergency callZoe Romanowsky, Aleteia

Bioethics

Oregon bill would let doctors starve, dehydrate mentally ill patientsClaire Chretien, LifeSiteNews

House Committee Votes to Strike Down D.C. Law Legalizing Assisted Suicide Steve Ertelt, LifeNews

D.C.’s ‘Death with Dignity’ Bill Could Cut Costs — and CompassionBrad Wenstrup and Phil Roe, National Review

New Mexico Assisted Suicide Bill Moves Toward Death on Demand – Wesley Smith, LifeNews

Obamacare

Why Delaying Obamacare Repeal Is Hurting the American PeopleSondra Clark, The Daily Signal

We Hear You: From Obamacare to Affordability and Choice for Consumers – Ken McIntyre, The Daily Signal


Family

Economics/Education

Workplace Flexibility for Moms and the Gender Gap – Ashley McGuire, Family Studies

These Small Business Owners Fret Over ‘Devastating’ Import Tax Pitched by House GOP Leaders – Josh Siegel, The Stream

Today’s Riot-Prone Mobs Are A Product Of America’s Cult-Like Education System – Stella Morabito, The Federalist

Good Money – Samuel Gregg, Public Discourse

State Lawmakers Need To Dramatically Increase School Choice Now Or America Is Over – Inez Feltscher, The Federalist

Identity Studies in Service of a Classical Education – Nicanor Austriaco, O.P., Public Discourse

Marriage

Debunking the Ball and Chain Myth of Marriage for MenBradford Wilcox and Nicholas H. Wolfinger, Family Studies

How Should a Christian View Marriage and Divorce?Amy Desai, Focus on the Family

6 Habits that will destroy your marriage, and how to avoid themAleteia

Faith/Character/Culture

When the One You Love Is WaywardDave Harvey & Paul Gilbert, The Gospel Coalition

Hero In Blue – William Doino, Jr., First Things

Human Sexuality

Cohabitation Contributes to Family Instability Across the GlobeLaurie DeRose, Family Studies

Six Essential Facts About Senate Bill 6 (Texas Privacy Act)Texas Values

The Data Suggests Unisex Bathrooms Are A Bonanza To Male PervertsPaul Dirks, The Federalist

Other Reasons to Wait Until MarriageBoundless

Transforming Hookup Culture: A Review of American HookupAmber Lapp, Family Studies

Human Trafficking

Sex Trafficking Spikes Around the Super Bowl, But It’s a Year-Round ScourgeMary Rose Somarriba, Verily

Human Trafficking and Slavery: How Flight Attendants are Saving Lives Miles in the AirNancy Flory, The Stream

Pornography

Why We All Need Millennials To Start Trying To Have More Sex – Hans Fiene, The Federalist

Social Conservative Review - February 1, 2017

by Daniel Hart

February 1, 2017

Dear Friends,

For over thirty years, FRC has worked tirelessly to end legal abortion in American public policy. Our commitment to this cause is rooted in the belief that no nation that legally allows the God-given gift of future generations to be killed in the womb can last.

But the pro-life movement to end abortion can and should be fought on all fronts, not just the legal and political side. Efforts to stem the demand for abortion in the first place are equally important. A recent article in Family Studies astutely explores this issue by pointing out that “three-fourths of all abortions are performed on women living at or below the poverty line,” and most of these women are single. What researchers have found is that “rarely do[es] a young woman and her community find abortion justifiable … It is often the pressure of the father that introduces abortion.”

This clearly points to the fact that a cultural change must occur in America in order to help reduce the number of abortions. That is why FRC has funded the compilation of empirical evidence to point out the value of marriage and why it is so important for the flourishing of families, which are the foundation of civilization, the seedbed of virtue, and the wellspring of society. As the evidence shows, when men do not marry, they earn less money. One reason for this is obvious: single men have less incentive to work toward getting higher-paying jobs because they don’t have a wife and child to support. In today’s self-centered culture, many single men still want the sexual benefits of marriage in a relationship without the perceived “restrictions” on their bachelor lifestyle that marriage would cause. So when a single man’s girlfriend becomes pregnant, it’s cheaper for him to pay for an abortion than it is to support the mother of his child and the child for the rest of their lives. As the Family Studies article illustrates, this scenario plays out mostly in low-income unmarried relationships.

A goal for believers should now become crystal clear: In order to help reduce abortion, we must do all we can to help low-income men and women in particular see the value of God’s design for marriage and sexuality. Our modern culture scoffs at such “antiquated morality,” but God’s design for sexuality is beautifully simple because He knows it will bring about our happiness. When one saves sex for marriage and then marries, a vow is taken to love and stay true to the spouse until death. This means that adequate means of financial support must be worked hard for to accomplish this goal. This will most likely lead not only to a stable financial setting for any future children to be born into, but also a loving relationship that fosters virtue in the child, who then pass this tradition on to their children, and so on. When we follow God’s plan for marriage and sexuality, abortion not only becomes morally unthinkable, it becomes culturally and economically irrelevant.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council


FRC Articles

Donald Trump Won the Respect VoteKen Blackwell

What Americans Want In Their Next Supreme Court JusticeFRC Action

The Condescension of the Establishment Media Regarding LifeChris Gacek

The Pro-Life Movement Cares About All Babies, Born and UnbornDan Hart

Pro-Life Bills You Should Know About in 2017

Was Manning’s Sentence Too Long - Or Too Short?Peter Sprigg

Women’s March is Out of Touch with Today’s FeministsBrynne Krispin

Planned Parenthood Goes Hollywood, But Can’t Escape RealityDan Hart

Obama’s Farewell Praised “Democracy” — But His Support for Judicial Tyranny On Marriage Shows He Doesn’t Mean ItPeter Sprigg

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

NFL columnist believes faith in God is biggest under-covered story in footballPhilip Kosloski, Aleteia

Atheist Group Sues West Virginia School District Over ‘Bible in the Schools’ ClassesMichael Gryboski, The Christian Post

Religious freedom fight returns to Colorado; opponents line upBrian Eason, The Denver Post

Fake News on Religion: Pew Continues to ConfuseTom Trinko, American Thinker

International Religious Freedom

Christians Not Welcome in India – Eric Metaxas, The Christian Post

 

Life

Abortion

In the Debate Over Abortion, Let’s Talk to the Poor – Meg T. McDonnell, Family Studies

We Know They Are Killing Children — All of Us KnowJohn Piper, Desiring God

3 Ways the Pro-Life Movement Can Help End Abortion – Scott Klusendorf, The Gospel Coalition

Trump bans foreign aid to groups that provide abortionsRobert King and Paige Winfield Cunningham, Washington Examiner

I Thought Planned Parenthood Protected Family ValuesRosaria Butterfield, The Gospel Coalition

Greatest genocide in history’: Groundbreaking report finds 1 billion abortions in past 100 years – Pete Baklinski, LifeSiteNews

New Poll: Majority of Americans Want Bans on Late-Term Abortions and Abortion Funding –  Casey Fiano, LifeSiteNews

Adoption

She’s One of the Rare Pregnant Moms to Go Into Planned Parenthood and Come Out With a Baby. Here’s How – Jay Hobbs, LifeNews

Meet 4 Pro-Life Lawmakers Who Chose to AdoptPhilip Wegmann, The Daily Signal

Bioethics

Awful Study Says Euthanizing More Patients Will Save the Government MoneyAlex Schadenberg, LifeNews

Panel clears Dutch doctor who asked family to hold patient down as she carried out euthanasia procedureThe Telegraph

Disabled Lawmaker: “People Like Me Are Facing Extinction From Abortion” – Micaiah Bilger, LifeNews

Congressmen introduce bill to block DC assisted suicide – Claire Chretien, LifeSiteNews

Psychiatrist Euthanized Six Mentally Ill Patients Who Had Dementia – Micaiah Bilger, LifeNews

Obamacare

How We Can Repeal the ACA and Still Insure the Uninsured – John C. Goodman, Pete Sessions, Bill Cassidy, Independent Institute

Republicans roll out their Obamacare replacements – Paige Winfield Cunningham, Washington Examiner

Covered California Misery Still Getting Worse – K. Lloyd Billingsley, Independent Institute

New Data Show Obamacare Insures Less Than 20 Million, Most on Medicaid – Alyene Senger, The Daily Signal

 

Family

Economics/Education

Could a Renewal of Thrift Education Help Young Americans Save More? – Amber Lapp, Family Studies

The Unintended Consequences of Minimum Wage Hikes – Abigail R. Hall Blanco, Independent Institute

Our Economy Is Barely Growing. Here’s 4 Steps We Can Take to Change That. – Timothy Doescher, The Daily Signal

America’s Great Divergence – Alana Semuels, The Atlantic

Women, We’re Co-Workers, Not Competitors – Bethany Jenkins, The Gospel Coalition

Marriage

The art of patience in a marriageZyta Rudzka, Aleteia

Marital Fidelity and God’s FidelityFr. Timothy Vaverek, The Catholic Thing

Making the Case for Married Parenthood to Millennials – Jennifer Murff, Family Studies

Faith/Character/Culture

Families, Schools, and Churches: The Building Blocks of a Healthy Social EcologyErika Bachiochi, Public Discourse

How a hungry boy taught me the ugly truth about myselfSimone Lorenzo, Aleteia

Affirming Life and Family in Hollywood – Ashley McGuire, Family Studies

Human Sexuality

Time For Parents To Resist Transgender ActivismEmily Zinos, First Things

Is There an ‘Unmet Need’ for Family Planning? – Rebecca Oas, The New Atlantis

Human Trafficking

In-N-Out Burger Matches Donations To Fight Human Sex Trafficking – Fight the New Drug

Pornography

South Dakota’s Senate Just Declared Pornography a Public Health Crisis – The National Center on Sexual Exploitation

How Shame Made My Struggle With Porn Worse, Not Better – Fight the New Drug

Social Conservative Review - January 17, 2017

by Daniel Hart

January 17, 2017

Dear Friends,

When we accept Jesus as Lord, our lives must change. As Bishop Robert Barron points out, this is truly good news for some, but for others, it is a threat to their way of life. Why? “If Jesus is Lord, my ego can’t be Lord. My religion can’t be Lord. My country, my convictions, and my culture cannot be Lord.”

Bishop Barron elaborates: “The resurrection is the clearest indication of the Lordship of Jesus. This is why the message of the resurrection is attacked, belittled, or explained away … This reveals a great mystery: we are called to announce the good news to everyone, but not everyone will listen. Once we’ve done our work, we should move on and not obsess about those who won’t listen. Why do some respond and some don’t? We don’t know, but that’s ultimately up to God.”

It is clear that when we fight for the values of Jesus, especially in the public square, we will most likely meet strong resistance, if not outright derision. It can be discouraging, but the important thing is that we do the work and not worry about the results, as Bishop Barron says. So let’s make a resolution in this new year to do all we can to make Jesus the Lord of all that we say and do, and in so doing, to open the door to Christ for others.

Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

What President-elect Trump can do about religious freedomTony Perkins

Religious Freedom Under President-Elect TrumpTravis Weber

Trump Will Have His Hands Full Fixing Social Extremism in the State DepartmentTony Perkins

Christian Persecution, Religious Freedom Explored in ‘Silence’ (Movie Review)Peter Sprigg

A media noose for Jeff SessionsKen Blackwell

Why True Feminism Means Skipping the Women’s March on WashingtonBrynne Krispin

Why We Can’t Wait: A Call for MLK-like Leadership  Patrina Mosley

Navy Begins Transgender IndoctrinationPeter Sprigg

Loudoun Schools Say No to Sex ExperimentCathy Ruse

 

Religious Liberty

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

Chip Gaines: “Fight for a world that knows how to lovingly disagree”Jake Roberson, Focus on the Family

International Religious Freedom

Top 50 Most Dangerous Countries for Christians Ranked in New ReportStoyan Zaimov, The Christian Post

UN’s New Top Bureaucrat Raises HopesLisa Correnti and Stefano Gennarini, C-Fam

Killing Africa: Stop Taxpayer Funding of Illegal Abortions in AfricaStephen Herreid, The Stream

Prominent pastor sentenced to two-and-a-half years after a year in detentionChina Aid

 

Life

Abortion

Abortion ban after 20 weeks of pregnancy put on fast track in Kentucky SenateJack Brammer, Lexington Herald Leader

6 Alarming Findings in House Panel’s Planned Parenthood ProbeKelsey Harkness, The Daily Signal

Finley’s Parents are Grateful Abortion Pill Reversal Saved Their Little GirlNancy Flanders, LifeNews

Adoption

Nicole Kidman on Lion and adoption: ‘It’s about the simplicity of love’Decca Aitkenhead, The Guardian

Letter from a 21-year-old orphan may make you consider being a foster parentAshley Jonkman, Aleteia

Parents Keep Twins With Down Syndrome After Adoptive Parents Back OutNancy Flanders, LifeNews

Bioethics

Finland Set to Debate Legislation That Would Legalize EuthanasiaPaul Russell, LifeNews

81-year-old grandmother gets “Don’t euthanize me” tattooPatty Knap, Aleteia

Bioethics in 2017Wesley J. Smith, First Things

Obamacare

Senate takes first step toward repealing ObamaCareJordain Carney, The Hill

New Numbers Show Strong Support for Repealing ObamacareElizabeth Fender, The Daily Signal

For Me, Obamacare Means Paying All Your Own Bills And Never Getting The Doctor You NeedM.G. Oprea, The Federalist

 

Family

Economics/Education

Privilege’ Is Just Another Word For Family, And We Need More Of It – Josh Sabey, The Federalist

Men’s Breadwinning Still Matters for Marriage – Christos Makridis, Family Studies

Report: Schools Are Teaching Kids To Hate America Under The Guise Of ‘Civics’ – Joy Pullmann, The Federalist

Marriage

The Heart of ParadiseDiane Woerner, Touchstone

The Treachery of DivorceLuma Simms, Family Studies

Three Reasons Not to Make This January Your Divorce MonthBradford Wilcox and Samuel Sturgeon, National Review

Millennials and cohabitation: Understanding motivations and ministering wellBrian Owen, Ethics and Religious Liberty Commission

Faith/Character/Culture

Why Does The World Exist?Matthew Becklo, Word On Fire

The Problem of Evil Is a Problem for EveryoneGavin Ortlund, The Gospel Coalition

Faith on the HillAleksandra Sandstrom, Pew Research Center

An MLK Day Pledge: No More Hyphenated AmericansE.W. Jackson, The Stream

MLK reminds us of the power of — and the need for — great oratoryElizabeth Scalia, Aleteia

Human Sexuality

National Geographic‘s “Gender Revolution”: Bad Argument and Biased IdeologyAndrew T. Walker and Denny Burk, Public Discourse

Court strikes down harmful transgender mandateBecket Fund

How The Trump Administration Can Truly Help Gender-Struggling AmericansWalt Heyer, The Federalist

Human Trafficking

Backpage.Com Officially Shuts Down Adult Ad Section Filled With Prostitution/Child TraffickingFight the New Drug

Pornography

Porn ruins lives, so families should be able to sue for damages: Utah legislator – Fr. Mark Hodges, LifeSiteNews

Netflix Is 40x More Popular Than Porn In Hotel Room Entertainment – Fight the New Drug

Social Conservative Review - December 15, 2016

by Daniel Hart

December 15, 2016

Dear Friends,

Christmas can be a busy time—between trying to find the right presents, to cooking giant meals, to traveling, to rushing from one “holiday” event to the next, it’s easy to let the great celebration of the miracle of Christ’s birth slip by without taking the time to just… be.

I was reminded of this after watching a short video about bowling, of all things. In it, a Milwaukee resident reflects on how our modern culture is spending less and less quality time in social recreation with one another, illustrated by the fact that more and more bowling alleys in the Milwaukee area, which were once the social hubs of the community, are now closing. “It’s that social aspect that we are getting away from,” the man says. “Because people don’t want to take time to relax for a couple hours, and enjoy the moment. Everybody’s so fragmented with their smartphones … that’s what really bothers me about where our society is going. We’re too focused on chasing the dollar and not enjoying life. It’s not about living.”

This is a great reminder to all of us. As we spend time with family and friends this Christmas, be sure to set aside modern distractions so that we can have genuine encounters with each other. As Mary Stanford writes, spending quality time with each other is vital to our own growth in virtue: “It truly is fascinating, even in everyday life, how we come to know ourselves more fully when we physically encounter others … When our lives “bump up” against one another in … intimate way[s], … we discover much about ourselves through our spouse’s or child’s responses, through his or her reactions to our own behavior. And what we discover about ourselves in this process isn’t always pretty. The fact remains, however, that without such moments of self-discovery, we cannot grow.”

Stanford further reflects on the effect that quality time has on a child’s sense of self-worth, but this could just as easily be applied to those of any age: “In a fruitful family life, sometimes true ‘quality time’ is in fact identical to ‘quantity time’—time marked less by activity than by availability, by an attentive presence that invites loved ones to approach each other face-to-face with their thoughts or feelings. Such moments of undivided attention for one another may be experienced as a waste to a busy adult, but are in fact critical to a child’s developing sense of identity and security. Looking away from a screen and into a child’s eyes is a physical sign that one is truly receiving and appreciating him.”

This Christmas, let’s not only recommit to genuinely encountering Christ, but also our families. Thank you for your prayers and for your continued support of FRC and the family.

Sincerely,

Dan Hart
Managing Editor for Publications
Family Research Council

 

FRC Articles

Atone Deaf: Liberals Demand Apology from Religious Trump BaseTony Perkins

Despite Left’s Bullying of Christians, Same-Sex Marriage Isn’t SettledTony Perkins

A transgender military is a weaker, compromised militaryPeter Sprigg

On Elections and the Easy Evil of HatredSarah Perry

Truth Wins at Arkansas Supreme Court Regarding Parentage on Birth CertificatesPeter Sprigg

France Reminds United States of Importance of First AmendmentTravis Weber

CDC: Abortion at Lowest Level in YearsArina Grossu

The ACC’s Bullying of North Carolina is UnacceptableChris Gacek

 

Religious Liberty

Free to Believe”

Christian artists face jail time for refusing to make same-sex wedding invitationsChris Enloe, The Blaze

The Persecution of Professor EsolenGeorge Weigel, First Things

This Small Business Owner Didn’t Want to Make Shirts for Gay Pride Festival. Now He’s in Court.Leah Jessen, The Daily Signal

International Religious Freedom

Canada’s Boldest Professor Defies the Gender PoliceScott Ventureyra, Crisis

French government votes to ban pro-life websitesPete Baklinski, LifeSiteNews

Following death, organ harvesting of prisoner, China Aid releases statementChina Aid

Sam Alone Stands Against the LeviathanJohn Paul Meenan, Crisis

The Sensitivity Police Strike AgainGeorge Will, National Review

Ransomed: The race to free 226 Christian hostages in SyriaLori Hinnant, Associated Press

UK Anti-Discrimination Laws Used as a ‘Weapon’ against ChristiansCBN News

Coptic Church Bombing: ‘Deadliest Attack’ on Egyptian ChristiansTalia Wise, CBN News

Military Religious Freedom

Parallel Societies: How the American Military and Civilian Worlds Parted WaysScott Beauchamp, Public Discourse

Religious Liberty in the Public Square

National Motto “In God We Trust” Can Stay on U.S. CurrencyFirst Liberty

Anglican Pastor May End Up in Jail in California for Offering Prayers for Women Entering Abortion FacilityAndre Mitchell, Christian Today

School Orders Staffer to Remove “Charlie Brown” Christmas PosterToddStarnes.com

Religious Liberty Win: Mass. Backs Off Gender Identity Law That Could Have Jailed PastorsLiberty McArtor, The Stream

Massachusetts churches free to serve their communities without being forced to abandon beliefsAlliance Defending Freedom

 

Life

Abortion

Senate Judiciary Committee refers Planned Parenthood for FBI investigation – Susan Michelle-Hanson, LiveAction

Media Silence: NYC Abortion Rate Is 60% of Birth RateKatie Yoder, National Right to Life

My Dear Friend Chucky Puts To Shame France’s Ban On Talking About Down SyndromeMike Rapkoch, The Federalist

Another ‘Miracle on 34th Street’ at Macy’s2ndVote

Ohio Senate Passes Bill to Ban All Abortions After an Unborn Baby’s Heartbeat BeginsSteven Ertelt, LifeNews

Unconscionable: Threats to Religious Freedom and Rights of Conscience in the Abortion DebateTim Bradley, Public Discourse

Adoption

Foster Children Need the ChurchBrittany Lind, The Gospel Coalition

[Oklahoma] DHS starts new program to speed up adoption processLacey Lett, KFOR

Advocates: Revamp Texas adoption care after mistreated teensFox News

Bioethics

Chaplains of DeathR.R. Reno, First Things

Joni Eareckson Tada: Christians Are Giving Up, Enabling Culture to Be WorseSamuel Smith, The Christian Post

4 in 10 Evangelicals Think Physician Assisted Suicide is ‘Morally Acceptable;’ Joni Eareckson Tada RespondsSamuel Smith, The Christian Post

Death on Demand: Euthanasia Activist Admits Assisted Suicide Not Just for Terminally IllSteven Ertelt, LifeNews

Assisted Suicide MendacityWesley J. Smith, National Right to Life

Obamacare

Don’t Let Democrats Define The Obamacare Debate – David Harsanyi, The Federalist

Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell: We’ll Repeal Obamacare on Day One – Steven Ertelt, LifeNews

How To Repeal Obamacare: Repeal Obamacare – Robert Tracinski, The Federalist

Obamacare May Soon Be Over. Here’s What Americans Have Thought of the Law Since 2010. – Elizabeth Fender, The Daily Signal

 

Family

Economics/Education

Meet the congresswoman poised to tear up Obama’s education legacy – Kimberly Hefling, Politico

Why Fewer Americans Outearn Their Parents – Alexia Fernández Campbell, The Atlantic

Feminists Should Fight the Department of Education’s Redefinition of Sex Discrimination – Christen Price, Public Discourse

Marriage

Conflict in Marriage Does Not Need to Be DestructiveJason Whiting, Family Studies

The Three Love DietMARRI

Married-Parent Families Boost Student Performance in OhioNicholas Zill and W. Bradford Wilcox, Family Studies

Faith/Character/Culture

Why Christmas Should Bother EverybodyBishop Robert Barron, Word On Fire

Why You Shouldn’t Change Jobs Every Two YearsSamuel Tran, The Gospel Coalition

Are Atheists Addled?Regis Martin, Crisis

Church Should Feel UncomfortableBrett McCracken, The Gospel Coalition

The Battle Belongs to the Grassroots: This Is Our MomentDoug Mainwaring, Public Discourse

Human Sexuality

State vs. Family: The Tyranny of the “Emerging Orthodoxy”Paul Diamond, Public Discourse

The Transgender Movement Targets Autistic ChildrenElise Ehrhard, Crisis

Sorry, Millennials. Monogamy is Not a “Spectrum”Andrew Stiles, Acculturated

Pornography

Seven Reasons You Should Not Indulge in Pornography – Andrew David Naselli, The Gospel Coalition

Uncovering The Massive Porn Problem In The U.S. Military – Fight the New Drug

7 Areas of Life That Pornography Destroys – Patrick Mabilog, Christian Today

Archives